top of page

Cooperative Hall of Fame "America's Legacy of Cooperation"

Established by the National Cooperative Business Association, the Cooperative Hall of Fame honors those distinguished individuals whose contributions to cooperative business have been genuinely heroic. Inductees are limited to a prestigious group carefully selected to preserve the nature of this special recognition. It is a distinct honor to be inducted into the Cooperative Hall of Fame.


The Cooperative Hall of Fame is housed in the offices of the National Cooperative Business Association in Washington, DC, where a permanent collection of commemorative plaques tells of the contributions made by each inductee.

The Cooperative Development Foundation (CDF) administers the Cooperative Hall of Fame. Nominations are received annually and reviewed by a screening and a selection committee, each composed of current leaders from the various sectors of the U.S. cooperative movement.


The Cooperative Hall of Fame induction ceremony is also a major fundraising event for CDF. It is fitting that the occasion to bestow the highest honor of the cooperative community on those individuals who have selflessly given of their lives to promote cooperatives, is also a vehicle to raise funds to perpetuate their work and life-long commitment.

Meet the Inductees

CHS, Inc.

2013 CHS_LOGO_4C_reg.png

Congratulations to the 2023 inductees! Your leadership and commitment to helping others improve lives and communities through cooperative education and development have inspired many and set the stage for a brighter future. Thank you for sharing your passion and expertise on behalf of cooperatives everywhere and for joining CHS as we create connections to empower agriculture.


CoBank 1x3.png

Congratulations to the 2023 inductees to the Co-op Hall of Fame! CoBank thanks you for the many lasting, positive impacts you have made to help more people use and benefit from the cooperative business model.

Cooperative Hall of Fame Members


The members of the Cooperative Hall of Fame congratulate Linda Leaks, Leslie Mead, Sheldon Petersen, Maurice Smith, and Halena Wilson. Your work in education, training, development, financial security, and rural electrification strengthens cooperatives, empowers communities, and improves lives. Welcome to the Hall of Fame!

Anne Reynolds

Dan Kelley

Daniel Waddle

Howard Brodsky

Jessica Gordon Nembhard

Jim Jones

Judy Ziewacz

Karen Zimbelman

Larry Blanchard

Marilyn Scholl

Martin Lowery

Paul Bradley

Paul Hazen

Pete Crear

Rebecca Dunn

Rich Larochelle

Rosemary Mahoney

Terry Lewis

Walden Swanson and Kate Sumberg

William J. Nelson

National Milk Producers Federation

Congratulations to this year’s inductees into the Cooperative Hall of Fame.  America’s dairy farmers appreciate the important role that cooperatives play in the business of farming, as well as the many services that member owned co-ops provide in other areas as well.  Working together, we can accomplish great things.

National Milk.png

Federation of Southern Cooperatives/Land Assistance Fund

The entire Federation family congratulates the 2023 class of Cooperative Hall of Fame inductees.

You all have played an integral role in advancing the cooperative movement across the nation and around the world.


National Cooperative Business Association CLUSA International

NCBA CLUSA members and staff congratulate Linda Leaks, Leslie Mead, Sheldon Petersen, Maurice Smith, and Halena Wilson on their induction into the 2023 Cooperative Hall of Fame. We applaud each of you for your dedication to the cooperative movement.

NCBA 1x3_edited.png

NCBA CLUSA & CDF Board of Directors

The Boards of Directors of NCBA CLUSA and the Cooperative Development Foundation applaud the outstanding accomplishments of the 2023 inductees to the Cooperative Hall of Fame. Thank you for your service to cooperatives.

NCBA 1x3_edited.png

Brad Captain

Brian Cavey

Carla Decker

Christina Jennings

Christopher Roe

Cornelius Blanding

Dave Swanson

Deborah Trocha

Devin Fuhrman

Emma McCormick

Erbin Crowell

Esteban Kelly

Jake Hamlin

Jeffrey Connor

Jill Tomalin

John Holdsclaw IV

Judy Ziewacz

Karen Zimbelman

Linda Tank

Larry Blanchard

Michelle L Schry

Paul Bradley

Patrick Connealy

Rich Larochelle

Raymond Guthrie

2023 Hall of Fame Sponsors
Hall of Fame Sponsors
NCB 1x3.png
CoBank 1x3.png
Future (2).png
Table Sponsors

African American Credit Union Coalition

Building Cooperative Communities

Carolinas Credit Union League

Civic Federal Credit Union

Coalition for Nonprofit Housing and Economic Development



CSI Support & Development Services

Credit Union National Association/National Credit Union Foundation

Farmer Mac

Local Government Federal Credit Union

National Cooperative Bank

National Cooperative Business Association CLUSA International

National Co+op Grocers

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation (CFC)



Ralph K. Morris Foundation

Rochdale Capital

Shared Capital Cooperative

The Ajani Group


bottom of page