top of page

2020 Inductees

Join us in congratulating four cooperative heroes.


Ben Burkett

Everett M. Dobrinski

Carmen Huertas-Noble

Michael Mercer

Thank you to our sponsors.

Cooperative Hall of Fame

"America's Legacy of Cooperation"


Established by the National Cooperative Business Association, the Cooperative Hall of Fame honors those distinguished individuals whose contributions to cooperative business have been genuinely heroic. Inductees are limited to a prestigious group carefully selected to preserve the nature of this special recognition. It is a distinct honor to be inducted into the Cooperative Hall of Fame.

The Cooperative Hall of Fame is housed in the offices of the National Cooperative Business Association in Washington, DC, where a permanent collection of commemorative plaques tells of the contributions made by each inductee. In addition, there is a website — — that highlights each inductee and their many contributions to cooperatives.

The Cooperative Development Foundation (CDF) administers the Cooperative Hall of Fame. Nominations are received annually and reviewed by a screening and a selection committee, each composed of current leaders from the various sectors of the U.S. cooperative movement.

The Cooperative Hall of Fame induction ceremony is also a major fundraising event for CDF. It is fitting that the occasion to bestow the highest honor of the cooperative community on those individuals who have selflessly given of their lives to promote cooperatives, is also a vehicle to raise funds to perpetuate their work and life-long commitment.


The members of the Cooperative Hall of Fame congratulate Ben Burkett, Everett M. Dobrinski, Carmen Huertas-Noble, and Michael Mercer. Your work in education, training, and development strengthens cooperatives, empowers communities, and improves lives. Welcome to the Hall of Fame!

Dan Kelley

Dennis Johnson

Doug Sims

Howard Brodsky

Judy Ziewacz                                                         

Jessica Gordon Nembhard

John and Carol Zippert                               

Larry Blanchard                                                    

Marilyn Scholl

Martin Lowery

Melbah Smith

Michael Cook

Paul Bradley

Peter Crear

Rich Larochelle

Rosemary Mahoney

Terry Lewis

Walden Swanson & Kate Sumberg

William J. Nelson

NCBA CLUSA logo - with tagline (med).png

The Board of Directors of NCBA CLUSA and the Cooperative Development Foundation applaud the outstanding accomplishments of the 2020 inductees to the Cooperative Hall of Fame. Thank you for your service to cooperatives.

Brian Cavey

Carla Decker

Christina Jennings

Christopher Roe

Deb Trocha

Diane Gasaway

Devin Fuhrman

Doug O'Brien

Erbin Crowell

Gregory Starheim

Howard Brodsky

Jeffrey Connor

Jerry McGeorge

Jill Tomalin

Judy Ziewacz

Karen Zimbelman

Kim Garmany

Larry Blanchard

Linda Tank

Michelle Schry

Patrick Connealy

Paul Bradley

Rich Larochelle

RKM Logo.png

Congratulations to the 2020 Cooperative Hall of Fame inductees from the Ralph K. Morris Foundation, which supports emerging leaders with an interest in applying and advancing the principles of cooperation, and in promoting farmland preservation, land stewardship, and sustainability.

2020 Hall of Fame Sponsors
Hall of Fame Sponsors
NCG_Logo_RGB Website use-01.png
Banquet Sponsors
2013 CHS_LOGO_4C_reg.png
NCB 1x3.png
Table Sponsors

Capital Impact Partners



Credit Union National Association/National Credit Union Foundation

CUNA Mutual

CUNY School of Law

Farmer Mac

Federation of Southern Cooperatives/LAF

Mississippi Association of Cooperatives

National Cooperative Bank

National Cooperative Business Association CLUSA International

National Co+op Grocers

National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation


Peach State Federal Credit Union

Shared Capital Cooperative

bottom of page